Tax Reporting & Compliance

Patient Care

There are six categories of individuals who are considered patients of a hospital for purposes of defining tax-exempt patient care. These are:

(1) inpatients

(2) outpatients

(3) persons directly referred to the hospital's outpatient facilities by their private physicians for specific diagnostic or treatment procedures

(4) persons refilling prescriptions written during their treatment as hospital patients

(5) persons in a hospital administered home care program

(6) persons receiving medical care in a hospital affiliated extended care facility

Supplemental content

Tax Reporting & Compliance Menu